Judith Beale 


The Judith Beale Scholarship promotes educational and professional development by providing students and archives professionals with funding to attend the SFA Annual Meeting. Named in honor of professional archivist and member of the Society of Florida Archivists Judith Beale, who passed away in 2010, the scholarship pays tribute to Judith's boundless enthusiasm for the archives profession and her passion for working with students.

Click here to donate to the Judith Beale Scholarship Fund.
[NOTE: Pursuant to Chapter 496, Florida Statutes, a copy of the official registration and financial information of this organization may be obtained from the Division of Consumer Services by call toll-free within the State. Registration does not imply endorsement, approval, or recommendation by the State. Toll-free number: 800-HELP-FLA (800-435-7352), Website: www.FloridaConsumerHelp.com, License number: CH48488.]


Qualified applicants must be current college students pursuing an undergraduate or graduate degree or professionals in the archival community. Applicants must also be current or new members of the Society of Florida Archivists. Special consideration will be given to students and individuals new to the archives profession in Florida. Successful applicants receive complimentary registration for SFA's Annual Meeting. Exceptional applicants may also receive a stipend to help defray travel and lodging costs.

Application Process and Submission Deadline

Application packets will consist of the following materials:

  • A one-page letter describing the applicant's interest in the scholarship and how it will contribute to their educational or professional goals.
  • Résumé or curriculum vitae.
  • Letter of reference from someone knowledgeable about the applicant's course of study or professional work.
  • Student applicants will submit a transcript of coursework completed and underway. Unofficial copies of transcripts will be accepted.

Incomplete applications or materials received after the deadline will not be considered. Please direct inquiries and completed applications to the committee chair, Rachel Walton (rwalton AT @rollins.edu)

UPDATE: The 2020 application cycle for the Judith Beale Scholarship is now open and the deadline for submissions has been extended. All applications must be submitted by May 29, 2020.

Past Beale Scholarship Winners

Florence Turcotte

2006 April Anderson, Janine Awai, Gail Donovan, Anastasia Levadas, and Erin VanClay

2007 Katia Nuñez

2008 Ana D. Rodriguez, Beatrice C. Skokan, and Sandra Varry

2009 Katherine Adams, Melissa Barber, Barbara Cardinale, and Carlos Pearman

2010 Billy R. Glasco, Jr., Anne Larrivee, Tracy Lin Seurer, and Marjorie Young

2011 Tyeler McLean, Adrienne Serra, Hadi Sheikhnia, Kimberly Ann Tinnell, Benjamin Yadon, and Erika Yagodzinski

2012 Christine Bethke, Tricia Chua, Debra Davendonis-Todd, Janet DeVries, Benjamin DiBiase, Anya Owens, Debra Willis, Erika Yagodzinski, and Kimboo York

2013 Miranda Doran-Myers, Alice Graves, Catherine Jones, Marissa Kings, and Michael Wright

2014 Amanda Moreno, Angiemarie Villafañe, and Hannah Wiatt Davis

2015 Rebecca Bramlett, Steven Duckworth, Katherine Hoarn, Theresa Hooker, Lisa Petrillo, and James Schultz

2016 Ashley Ashabranner, Jennifer Bowne, Gilbert Gott, Jocelyn Hurtado, Sarah Kautz, and Mary Rubin

2017 Sara Kiszka, Carolina Meneses, Lynn Phillips, Skye von Achen, and Andrea Malanowski

2018 Adam Berkowitz, Bart Delcamp, and Paige Downey

2019 Claire Barnewolt, Kryslynn Collazo, and Carady DeSimone

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software